A Brown background with the HLTV logo and a heading saying HLTV Awards 2022 Recap

CS:GO’s biggest names all gathered under one roof last night for the HLTV Award Show 2022. At the ceremony, the home of competitive Counter-Strike recognized and rewarded the biggest performers of the year. Let’s take a look at all the awards up for grabs and who went home with them!

HLTV Award Show 2022

Before we find out who won, let’s take a look at the list of awards and their nominees:

Panel awards presented by 1xBet:

  • Opener of the year (⁠NiKo⁠, stavn, YEKINDAR)
  • Closer of the year (Ax1Le, KSCERATO, ropz)
  • Anchor of the year (NAF, Perfecto, sjuush)
  • AWP of the year (sh1ro, s1mple, ZywOo⁠)
  • IGL of the year (⁠cadiaN⁠, karrigan, Jame)
  • Coach of the year (B1ad3⁠, RobbaN⁠, sAw)
  • Best five of the year

HLTV Awards presented by 1xBet:

  • Highlight of the year (m0NESY vs. MIBR, ropz vs. G2, broky⁠ vs. Astralis)
  • Rookie of the year (m0NESY, Patsi, w0nderful)
  • Women’s team of the year (Nigma Galaxy, FURIA fe, CLG Red)
  • Team of the year (FaZe, G2, Natus Vincere)
  • Women’s player of the year (ANa, Olga, vilga)
  • Player of the year

It’s safe to say that the awards have intense competition. Along with the HLTV Awards, the panel awards were presented by a star-studded committee comprising of professional players, on-air talent as well as HLTV writers.

The Award Winners

Panel Award Winners

Opener of the year: Recognizing the best entry fragger of the year, the opener of the year had to be decided between NiKo⁠, stavn and YEKINDAR. NiKo came out on top winning the first award of the night with YEKINDAR and stavn taking the second and third spot.

Closer of the year: This award recognizes a clutch player who consistently shows up on late rounds. There was little surprise that Ax1Le took this award over KSCERATO and ropz. C9’s Rifler had constantly displayed his confidence and nerves on multiple occasions throughout the year. But he was equally humble as he read out a cute little speech thanking his well-wishers after receiving the award.

Anchor of the year: Perfecto came out on top over NAF and sjuush to win the title of Anchor of the year. The NaVi representative surely showed everyone a thing or two about holding sites firmly last year.

AWP of the year: Look, let’s just cut to the chase! If we’re talking about AWPers, the first name that should come to one’s mind is s1mple. S1mple continues to dominate the scene and pick up headshots after headshots. Sh1ro and ZywOo tried but it’s just the s1mple show yet again!

IGL of the year: Three excellent leaders in the form of Cadian, Jame and Karrigan were the contenders for the IGL of the year. But leading a team to four international titles isn’t a matter of joke. And thus, Karrigan deservedly walks away with this one.

Coach of the year: The coaches of ENCE, FaZe and Natus Vincere were up for being crowned the coach of the year. NaVi’s coach, B1ad3 proudly walked away with the bragging rights.

Best five of the year: Now, this award was surely different from the rest. A team consisting of five outstanding players from the entire pool of top-flight players that made waves last year. This is how the team turned out:

  • Anchor: Perfecto
  • AWPer: S1mple
  • Closer: AX1LE
  • IGL: Karrigan
  • Opener: NiKo

Not a bad roster at all being crowned as the all-stars of HLTV Award Show 2022. Any organization wanna pick them up?

In other news: MOUZ has announced their Valorant roster for 2023!

HLTV Award Winners

Highlight of the year: No denying that there were several moments of competitive CS:GO this year that made us speechless. But m0NESY’s clutch against MIBR at BLAST Premier Spring Groups 2022 surely tops them all. Do check it out if you haven’t seen the HLTV 2022 highlight of the year:


Rookie of the year: m0NESY was up yet again for the Rookie of the year along with Patsi and w0nderful. The three prodigies surely turned heads and impressed us all. But it was moNESY yet again picking up another award at the show.

Women’s team of the year: It was Nigma Galaxy that dominated the women’s CS:GO circuit in 2022 picking up three titles in the process. The girls easily walked away with the women’s team of the year at the HLTV Award Show 2022.

Team of the year: For this award, the nominations were G2, FaZe Clan and Natus Vincere. FaZe absolutely dominated the entire first half of the year winning Katowice, ESLPL Season 15, Antwerp and Cologne.

Woman’s player of the year: With a phenomenal 1.39 rating, Nigma’s Ana picked up the title of woman’s player of the year. Ana led her team to securing titles throughout the year and her performance was crucial in determining the outcomes of the matches.

Player of the year: Well, this was the award many fans were waiting for. The player of the year was awarded to the one and only s1mple yet again. The Ukrainian had another year full of titles and awards. With a 1.26 rating and 2 MVPs under his belt, little argument can be made here. S1mple even opened up about wanting to take a break last year. He shared a heartfelt speech at the end:

Well, that’s it for our recap of the HLTV Award Show 2022. Let’s see which of these stars continue to dazzle in 2023. See you next time!